About the Book


In the tradition of Persepolis and American Born Chinese, a wry and endearing high school heroine comes of age. Tina M., sophomore, is a wry observer of the cliques and mores of Yarborough Acad­emy, and of the foibles of her Southern California intellectual Indian family. She’s on a first-name basis with Jean-Paul Sartre, the result of an English honors class assign­ment to keep an “existential diary.”

Keshni Kashyap’s compulsively read­able graphic novel – with Mari Araki’s sweet, melancholy drawings – packs in existential high school drama – from Tina getting dumped by her smart-girl ally to a kiss on the mouth (Tina’s mouth, but not technically her first kiss) from a cute skateboarder, Neil Strum­minger.  And it memorably answers the press­ing question: Can an English honors assign­ment be one fifteen-year-old girl’s path to enlightenment?

Watch the Tina's Mouth Trailer

 Meet the Characters of Tina's book